Sparkling Birthday Mini Bombe Alaska

4

January 22, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Sparking Birthday Mini Bombe Alaska

Do you think you are “naturally” drawn to people who are born in certain months? I do! People I knew in my past lives too! πŸ˜‰ It was “quite “the topic of conversation” (when I was little lol) while hosting my imaginary tea party with my imaginary friends in Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine post https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/.

I was born with the “natural” ability to “introduce” all things. (Especially foods and people too! πŸ˜‰ ) My curiosity started “the second” I arrived into this world too! πŸ˜‰

At my imaginary party I would ask, “Mr. January, have you met Miss December?” He replied, “If I have Miss January, I CERTAINLY would remember! πŸ˜‰ And Mr. October, ( “used” to know people whose birthdays fell on every day in October, TRUE!) may I “introduce” you to Miss Gemini? He replied, “Thank you for “introducing” ( πŸ˜‰ ) us Miss January, the pleasure is all mine.” And so it went! πŸ˜‰

Fast forward from yesteryear and little did I realize when we met our immediate circle of friends all share three sets of birthdays; Aquarius – January 20th to February 18th, Libra September 23 – October 22, Cancer June 22 – July 22. I LOVE entertaining with friends and enjoy hosting “our real” (lol) theme parties throughout the year! πŸ™‚ There always seems to be an excuse for a party and we only party on the days that end in “Y” πŸ˜‰
Party

When I first saw Miniature Bombe Alaskas on Simply great meals http://www.simplygreatmeals.com.au/recipe/222/miniature-bombe-alaskas, I “knew” these would be on the list for “someone’s” birthday! Little did I know that when I decided to make my adapted recipe Sparkling Birthday Mini Bombe Alaska, I would be one of the birthday recipients too;-)

HOW excited could I be? Being “inspired” by my own “slightly adapted” Mini Mandarin Meringue Moments Cupcakes https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/01/mini-mandarin-meringue-moments-cupcakes/ recipe!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Bombe Alaska

Note the crack occurred when I moved it from the tray to photograph it. πŸ˜‰

Ingredients for Cake:
2 eggs

100 grams Xylitol (original recipe calls for sugar)

100 grams unsalted butter, softened

165 grams plain flour

Β½ teaspoon baking powder

Β½ teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon orange blossom water

juice from half an orange

grated zest from 1 orange

1 β€œheaped” tablespoon vanilla yogurt ( I used Vaalia)

~6 tablespoons Cafe Grande Ice Cream — Grand Marnier and Almond (I used Connoisseur Ice Cream by Nestle)*

1 teaspoon Cointreau (optional)

β€œEverybody in the pool moment” πŸ˜‰ (as reference in Mini Mandarin Meringue Moments Cupcakes)

In large bowl, combine dry ingredients.

In separate bowl, combine blossom water, juice from orange, zest and yogurt; whisk until well combined.

Combine yogurt mixture with dry ingredients until well combined.

HINT and TIP:
I tasted the batter at this point and was happy with the orange β€œtang”; feel free to add more juice or zest. Noting more meringue and Cafe Grande Ice Cream (or ice cream of your choice) to follow re overall taste. πŸ˜‰

Preheat oven to 180C (350F); pour batter into a oil sprayed 8 x 8 baking pan (I used Pyrex); bake 12 – 14 minutes or until lightly golden brown; toothpick comes out clean. πŸ˜‰ Let cool for 10 – 15 minutes before removing to wire rack.

NOTE:
In lieu of oil spraying the baking pan, you can use baking paper.
This recipes made 4 Sparkling Birthday Mini Bombe Alaska but you can increase the amount of cakes by cutting them in half horizontally; I thought it was best to just leave things be! πŸ˜‰

HINT and TIP:
Once the cake was cooled, I used a round metal egg ring (about 3 inches by 3 inches); placed the egg ring on the cake and used a sharp knife to cut out shapes. I found when I tried to use the egg ring itself and push into the cake, it did not worth as well. πŸ˜‰

Place round cakes on tray lined with baking paper. Brush tops of cake with a pastry brush with Cointreau (optional)

Spoon ice cream balls over cake. Cover with plastic wrap; place tray in freezer.

HINT and TIP:
I used a small melon baller to place the slightly softened ice cream balls on the cakes when cooled. I put 3 balls on each cake, then used a fork to spread it to cover the top of the cake. Hope this helps! πŸ™‚

Ingredients for Meringue

3 egg whites

3/4 cup Xylitol (original recipe calls for caster sugar)

Beat egg-whites until stiff; “gradually” add in sugar beating well after adding each lot.

Remove cakes topped with ice cream from freezer; cover completely with meringue.

BIG NOTE: πŸ™‚
Make sure ALL of the cake is covered with meringue and there are no holes and no cake showing. If this is not done, the ice cream will melt in the oven. πŸ™‚

Seeing this was the first time I have made these, I found the meringue a tad “fiddly” to spread. I initially used two spoons; then found after everything was covered, (I double and triple checked πŸ™‚ ) I used a fork to make a bit of a design pulling the meringue up. (At least I would like to “think” I did! lol) But noting, the more you “pull” the meringue up to make peaks, the peaks seemingly cook quicker and are subject to burn quicker. πŸ˜‰

Place Sparkling Birthday Mini Bombe Alaska on an oven tray in 230C (~450F) oven and “WATCH like you are a five year old kid!“; is MAGIC!!! They change color in 1 – 2 minutes! Cook until light to golden brown.

Bombe Alaska1

*use ice cream of your choice

FOLLOW UP NOTE:
While I know Sparkling Birthday Mini Bombe Alaska’s are supposed to be baked and served. There was a couple of hours between when I had finished them and when they were going to be enjoyed. Once they came out from the oven, I set them aside to cool. If you have completely covered with meringue, you do not have to worry about the ice cream melting out.

While, I can “appreciate” this is not the traditional way of making and serving, this worked for my friends and me.
When I brought them to the restaurant, they “were” placed into the freezer for about 2 hours and when ready to serve, the meringue was not “as crisp”, but had a lovely gloss to it and in between the mmmmmmmmm, mmmmmmmmmmmmm’s, I don’t think anyone noticed on the night, TRUE!

I hope now that Sparkling Birthday Mini Bombe Alaska were “on the list” and now are “off the list” I can inspire you to make and enjoy too! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Repeat after me, “I NOW WANT TO MAKE Sparkling Birthday Mini Bombe Alaska for my friend’s birthdays too!” πŸ˜‰

What’s your favorite dessert to make for friend’s birthdays?

Do you make something “special” for yourself for your birthday too?

I CELEBRATEevery” birthday (as am STILL ALIVE!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ) and don’t care HOW old I get; look forward to being 102! πŸ˜‰

WHOO HOO!

4 thoughts on “Sparkling Birthday Mini Bombe Alaska

  1. […] LIKE “introducing” foods like in Sparkling Birthday Mini Bombe Alaska, Spinning Spiral Tart and Coconut, Lemongrass and Hibiscus Ice […]

  2. itsanoushka says:

    Yammie! My birthday is on 21 of September LOL

  3. Hehe we both have bombes on the brain! And very good to know that you can leave them out without the ice cream leaking out too! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Lorraine! And yes “bombes on the brain” lol lol.
      I left them in a very cool place and would not suggest leaving them out on a warm day. When they were refrozen, some of the ice cream infused itself into the cake without making it soggy. I had my fingers crossed but what another fun filled experiment this was too! WHOO HOO!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

