Bloody Mary’s Gin Sister Terrine

4

January 18, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

What better way than to celebrate “Happy Friday” (at least it is in Australia now lol), than to share this Bloody Mary’s Gin Sister Terrine. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Image

When I was little, I used to sing (remember I can’t sing reference in If I Knew You Were Coming Pound Cake https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/800/ ;-)) πŸ˜‰

Mary, Mary, quite contrary… how does your garden grow… with silver bells and cockle shells and pretty maids all in a row

Little did I know at the time, that the person I was “really” singing about was the daughter of King Henry VIII, Mary Tudor aka Bloody Mary. Suffice it to say, Bloody Mary was an “unsavory” (okay pun intended πŸ˜‰ ) character, so am glad I decided to write about her Gin Sister, my imaginary friend at my imaginary tea party. (See Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/ re imaginary friends at imaginary tea party πŸ˜‰ )

Besides Bloody Mary’s Gin Sister used to love “hosting parties” and “introducing people and foods” to each other “just like me! πŸ˜‰

So, you can understand when I saw Bloody Mary terrine on netdoctor’s Healthy Living/Recipes section http://www.netdoctor.co.uk/healthy-living/recipes/lactose-free/bloody-mary-terrine.htm#ixzz2HfBjtjIJ , it was instantly “on the list” After all, for the “more mature”, who would not enjoy a slice of my “slightly adapted” Bloody Mary’s Gin Sister Terrine. πŸ˜‰ I “wonder” what my imaginary friends at my imaginary tea party (when I was little lol) would have said if I served this? Perhaps my fate would have been very unsavory (pun intended lol) too! πŸ˜‰

Ingredients

700 grams (~3 cups) cherry or plum tomatoes
2 cloves garlic, chopped
30 mls (2 tablespoons) Xylitol (original recipe calls for caster sugar)
10 mls (2 teaspoons) salt (I used Himalayan fine ground)
30 mls (2 tablespoons) olive oil
1 kilo (2 1/4 pounds) capsicum (also called red peppers)

NOTE:
The recipe is a tad labor intensive, but in the end, I thought Bloody Mary’s Gin Sister Terrine was SO worth it to make as it WOULD make “a great tomato starter or serve with bread to make a light lunch or supper.

For Bloody Mary’s Gin Sister Mix
juice of 1 lemon
25 grams (~.88 ounces) powdered gelatine
300 mls (~10.1 ounces) tomato juice ( I used V8 ;-))
75 mls (~2.5 ounces) gin
45 mls (~1.5 ounces) ketchup
30 mls (~1 ounce) Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoons Tabasco sauce
25 grams (~.88 ounces) mint and basil combined, finely chopped (I used 50/50 ratio πŸ˜‰ )
salt and pepper to taste
oil spray

In an oil sprayed roasting plan, place tomatoes (cut in half), chopped garlic, Xylitol, salt and pepper.
Drizzle olive oil; toss to coat.
Place pan under grill for about 10 minutes, until skins are charred. Remove, set aside to cool.
Core, deseed, and quarter capsicum. Place on a lightly oiled tray (skin side up); grill until skins are charred; about 8 – 10 minutes.
Turn capsicum over; grill additional 5 minutes.

NOTE:
There are many different ways to have capsicum skins remove easier. The original recipe calls for “putting the peppers into a plastic bag and sealing for 5min.” You can remove them from the oven, place into a bowl of ice water. Seeing it was a very hot day and didn’t have any ice on hand, I filled the sink with cold water and dropped ice blocks into it prior to grilling the capsicum. Whatever method works best for you! πŸ˜‰

Are you STILL with me? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

When capsicum are cooled enough; remove skins.
Place lemon juice in a heatproof jug; add cold water to make up a total of 90 mls (3 1/2 ounces)
Sprinkle gelatine over and leave for 5 minutes. (I stirred it through ;-))
Place heatproof jug (can use a bowl too) over a pan of simmering water until liquid runs clear. WHEN you make this, you will “know” when it is clear too! πŸ˜‰
In a large bowl, mix together the tomato juice, gin, tomato ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, Tabasco, salt and pepper (to taste)
Stir cooled, dissolved gelatine into the Bloody Mary’s Gin Sister mix, stir and set aside.
Lightly oil a 1.1 litre (2 pint) terrine mould and line with plastic wrap.
Put a quarter of the roasted peppers into the terrine and pour in Bloody Mary’s Gin Sister mix to cover.
Add a layer of chopped basil and chopped mint (combined), followed by a third of the tomatoes; cover with Bloody Mary mix.
Continue layering, finishing with capsicum. Tap terrine on a flat surface to distribute the liquid evenly; fold plastic wrap covering surface and (original recipe calls to chill for 4hr or until set.)

NOTE:
I let set overnight as I wanted to make “sure” it would set; seeing is first time have ever made! πŸ˜‰

Hint and Tip:
Next time I make, I would “suggest” cutting the peppers into strips to make it easier to layer and think would add to the final result presentation.

Serve as a starter with an aged balsamic vinegar drizzle and olive oil, green salad (I used rocket) and ENJOY! πŸ™‚

“WHEW!!! I am glad you made it til the end to enjoy Bloody Mary’s Gin Sister Terrine too! πŸ˜‰

So, would you serve Bloody Mary’s Gin Sister Terrine at your next tea party or summer breeze lunch?

I can hear from close and afar, (now that Bloody Mary’s Gin Sister Terrine was “on the list” and now is “off the list“), “I CAN make this now easily too!” πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

Follow Up Note:
People who have made this recipe agree, it “is” labor intensive, but SO worth it to do!!

Bloody Mary's Gin Sister Terrine1

SOURCE:

netdoctor’s Healthy Living/Recipes section http://www.netdoctor.co.uk/healthy-living/recipes/lactose-free/bloody-mary-terrine.htm#ixzz2HfBjtjIJ

4 thoughts on “Bloody Mary’s Gin Sister Terrine

  1. OK in a while you might be laughing because I just bought ingredients to do something “Bloody Mary” flavoured! πŸ˜›

    • Thanks Lorraine! I don’t believe in coincidences! And AM greatly amused with the “connection” too!
      Perhaps in our former lives (we were food), and someone “introduced” the two of us. Wouldn’t THAT be interesting too! πŸ˜‰

  2. Joy Morris says:

    Looks delicious and I love the photos!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

