Ebony and Ivory Sesame Toasted Tofu with Phrik Nam Pla

Leave a comment

January 16, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

Ebony And Ivory Live Together In Perfect Harmony” … I wonder if Paul McCartney was thinking of food when he wrote the lyrics to the song. πŸ˜‰

My name is Joanne, (or I kind of like when people call me Joanna or Jo ;-)) and I have never made a tofu dish at home. WHY? Well, honestly, after having some BEYOND fabulous dishes which included tofu out in restaurants, I “thought” I could never recreate or “slightly adapt” ANY tofu recipe! Also, let’s admit it, tofu (per se) in any form, does not have much of a taste by itself. But when “introduced” with other ingredients, it creates a balance of texture and taste, “especially” when matched (or introduced ;-)) to or with a sauce.

I was “amazed” (when making the introductions” that Mr. Ebony and Ivory Sesame Toasted Tofu and Mr. Phrik Nam Pla not only got along, but had a history too!) πŸ™‚

I can’t even tell you HOW it happened, but it did. I was surfing (there goes that Hawaii 5 – 0 song again like in Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts with No Peek Sugarless Strawberry Jam https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/holy-moley-baked-donuts-with-no-peek-sugarless-strawberry-jam/) the net and an image “jumped” out in front of me. It was then that I saw Detox: Sesame-Crusted Tofu with Nuoc Cham on Alexandra’s Kitchen as inspired by The New Mayo Clinic Cookbook and Sourced from The Asian Grill, that I “knew I needed to gain the courage and explore the possibility of making tofu at home too!

How would it taste?” “What would I do?” “Would it be easy or difficult and could I put my own “twist” on it too?

Ingredients for “slightly adapted” Phrik Nam Pla (translates as chilli “prik” fish sauce “name pla”)
ORIGINAL SOURCE: The Asian Grill

1/4 cup Xylitol (original recipe calls for sugar)
1/3 cup fish sauce
1/3 cup fresh lime juice
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 red chilli, halved (see NOTE)
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes

NOTE:
I like foods “hot and spicy”, so used chillies with seeds; feel free to use green chilli; adapt to personal taste. πŸ˜‰

Ingredients

300 grams firm tofu (I used Woolworths Macro Momen Tofu)
1 egg
1/8 teaspoon salt (I used Himalayan pink salt)
3 tablespoons panko*
2 tablespoons white sesame seeds
2 tablespoons black sesame seed
1 teaspoons Sriracha (see NOTE)
1 teaspoon water
oil for frying
2 scallions, sliced (for garnish) OPTIONAL

NOTE
Adjust to personal taste (I like foods hot and spicy πŸ˜‰ ); feel free to omit.

In bowl, whisk together sugar, fish sauce and lime juice until sugar dissolves. Add garlic, chilli and crushed red pepper flakes; adjust taste accordingly; let stand for 30 minutes.

NOTE:
Properly stored, will last in the fridge for a week.

Hint and Tip
Drain the tofu for as long as possible. I used a brick covered in al foil and placed on a wire rack over the sink for “hours“; some “suggest” leaving it out all day, but if you feel uncomfortable doing that, than can drain it in the fridge until ready to use it too! πŸ™‚

In a small bowl, beat egg and water and Sriracha.

NOTE:
Can omit Sriracha as is personal taste; I like foods hot and spicy! πŸ˜‰

In separate bowl, combine white and black sesame seeds and salt too.

Lay tofu on its side and cut into three pieces.

Working one piece at at a time, place tofu in egg mixture, then in sesame panko mixture.

Hint and Tips
Use one hand for dry ingredients; one hand for wet ingredients. The alternative is dip tofu in egg mixture, place black and white sesame seeds and salt in Ziploc bag; “shake to coat” πŸ™‚
I found placing the sesame seeds and salt on a flat plate (after dipping in the egg mixture) worked well too; pressing down on each side before “gently” placing in the fry pan too! πŸ˜‰

Heat fry pan on medium heat, then add 3 teaspoons oil; carefully place one piece of tofu and cook about 3 minutes.

NOTE:
Tofu cooks quickly, so watch it! πŸ˜‰

Turn tofu and cook an additional 3 minutes and or until light brown.

Garnish with scallions and enjoy! πŸ˜‰

* My name is Joanne, and I have never used panko before πŸ™‚

Do you like tofu and have a special recipe? Perhaps now that Ebony and Ivory Sesame Toasted Tofu with Phrik Nam Pla
was “on the list” and is now “off the list”, you will share a recipe you like with me! πŸ™‚

Hope re tofu, I can now “inspire” you to do! Tofu is healthy and you can easily add it to your favorite dish too! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

