Spinning Spiral Tart

14

January 15, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

When I was little, I was fascinated with anything that was spinning! ๐Ÿ™‚ (see Spinning Globe Persian Pomegranate and Pistachio Meatballs https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/1130/) I love spinning tops, yo-yos (not the kind you eat ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and “used” to think it was fun going on the roller coaster upside down so my head would spin. I know different now! ๐Ÿ™‚

Who amongst us remembers the 1973 movie The Exorcist http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0070047/ with Linda Blair and her spinning head scene? OK, how many people “tried” to get their head to spin like hers? lol (Let’s remember how old I was in 1973 ๐Ÿ™‚ )

In addition to spinning, I also love rainbows! When I was little, I had the the 64 Crayola Crayons in Different Brilliant Colors with the “Built In Sharpener” That was the top of the line range and one of my prized possessions. I used to have a name for each crayon and would take pleasure in introducing each one to each other, and moving them around (so I could introduce them to more friends)

What is it with me in wanting to introduce foods and crayons together and in giving them “unique” names. How easy (once again, I get do distracted! ;-))

I “knew” when I saw the English version of Provencal tart spiral (aka Rainbow Pie to me) at Cuisine Addict http://www.cuisine-addict.com, it was “on the list!” Not only does it combine my love of flaky pastry (flaky like me sometimes ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), but the “variety of food colors” express my food personality! ๐Ÿ™‚

I am only now realizing that I also must like purple foods, as I have a natural attraction to them. (see Kotobuki Pie with Candied Walnuts re Purple Sweet Potatoes https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/12/kotobuki-pie-with-candied-walnuts/)

Lebanese Cucumber

Here is my “very slighted” adapted Spinning Spiral Tart.

Ingredients for Pie Crust

NOTE: The original recipe makes enough dough for three pies. I cut the dough in thirds and found other “creative” uses for the rest of the dough.

250 grams (8.8 ounces)butter, softened
530 grams (18.7 ounces) flour, sifted
120 ml (4.06 ounces) cold water pinch of salt

In large bowl or mixer, combine flour, butter, salt until appears like sand pebbles.
Little by little add cold water until dough forms a paste.
Wrap dough in plastic wrap; Refrigerate for 2 hours.

NOTE: I can make this pastry and so CAN you! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Ingredients for Pie Filling

1 large Italian eggplant*
1 large Lebanese eggplant
1 large zucchini
2 red peppers (also called capsicum)
2 large carrots
3 tablespoons French mustard (I used Grey Poupon)
1 egg
100 ml (.338 ounces) thickened cream
1 ounce (6 teaspoons) goats cheese
Salt and pepper to taste

NOTE: I used one raw red pepper and one roasted red pepper (skin off) as had on hand and always like to use up what is in the fridge, freezer or pantry. ๐Ÿ™‚

Preheat oven to 180C (350F)
Wash, peel and trim vegetables; cut peppers into strips; all other vegetables with a mandolin.
In pot of boiling water, blanch carrots for 5 minutes; set aside to cool.

NOTE:
For eggplant, zucchini and carrots cut off tip and bottom; cut vertically in half before slicing on the mandolin.
May need to adjust the size of the vegetables to the depth of your pan. I found as I got closer to the center, the vegetables needed extra trimming.
I found it helpful to make sure the vegetables overlapped in other in each round. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Remove pastry from refrigerator.

NOTE:
I “very lightly” kneaded it on a flat surface, (dough looks smooth), cut it in thirds and (to make it easier for me), I rolled the pastry our thinly.

Place your dough in the pie plate. Prick with a fork.

NOTE:
I found it easier to use a smaller buttered (or oiled) pie plate and “gently” push the dough down into the original pie plate.

Brush 1 tablespoon of mustard onto the top of the pastry.
Assemble, Assemble, Assemble (I must like saying that 3 times just like I did in Wrap Yourself Happy https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/10/1252/ ) ๐Ÿ˜‰

In bowl, whisk together remaining 2 tablespoons of mustard, egg, cream; salt and pepper to taste.
Pour mixture over the vegetables.
Bake for 30 – 35 minutes; garnish with goats cheese.

NOTE:
I waited until the pie “slightly” cooled before adding the goat’s cheese
Slicing the pie WILL be “interesting“, but it is so worth to make. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Would anyone (now that Spinning Spiral Tart was “on the list” and is now “off the list” ) now want to do the Rainbow Pie dance with me? ;-);-)

If you could be any color of the rainbow (or in a crayon box), what color would you be?

Image

* SOURCE
Types of EggplantsKuali
http://kuali.com/

14 thoughts on “Spinning Spiral Tart

  1. […] LIKE “introducing” foods like in Sparkling Birthday Mini Bombe Alaska, Spinning Spiral Tart and Coconut, Lemongrass and Hibiscus Ice […]

  2. Aisha says:

    woooooooow… it looks delicous!! I love the shape… looks like a flower!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I think I will give it a try!
    have a nice day

  3. […] like “spiral” and “swirled” foods too! lol (like in my Spinning Spiral Tart https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/15/spinning-spiral-tart/ […]

  4. fabliss says:

    this looks amazing!

  5. babso2you says:

    That looks amazing! Thank you for signing up to follow my blog! I hope that you enjoy your time cruising around my site. If you go to topics and click on in the kitchen, you will find my recipes and info on food! Have a wonderful day and again thanks! – B

    • Thank you for your comments! And also look forward to meeting new friends and being introduced to new foods around the globe! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • babso2you says:

        I love new foods, and my friend in Ireland has some amazing recipes that he does, with the main ingredient being humor. Please click on “One Man’s Meat” on my blog roll to the right of my posts. I have tried a number of his recipes and he is an incredible cook and humorist!

      • Thanks for your comments and suggestion babso2you! I agree, humor and fun is also a necessary ingredient in any recipe! ๐Ÿ™‚
        Glad you enjoyed and as a home cook, I hope to inspire people around the word one recipe at a time too!

  6. What a gorgeous effect! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  7. Debbwl says:

    What a presentation! Very Cool!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

ยฉ All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

