Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts with No Peek Sugarless Strawberry Jam

5

January 14, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Holy Moly Baked Donuts

Hands up? What better way to start the week than with a baked mini donut with sugarless strawberry jam? πŸ™‚

When I was little, hosting my imaginary tea party with my imaginary friends in Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine post https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/, I would go into what’s “on the list” with Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts with No Peek Sugarless Strawberry Jam I was going to make one day in the future.

It must have been after discussing my Peking Duck β€œpeeking out at me” reference in my Lucky Lemon Chicken post https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/27/lucky-lemon-chicken/ I have “LOTS” of stories you know; food related and other wise. πŸ˜‰

My name is Joanne and I have never baked donuts OR made my own jam before too! Then when I found a recipe for Sugarless Jam, and remembered I had Baked Jelly Donuts for Hanukkah “on the list”, I thought they would make the perfect combination and I could introduce Mr. Donut to Mr. Jam and “knew” they would be “the perfect” combination together too! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

As I surfed (Do you hear the Hawaii 5 0 song in their head or is it only me? lol) the net aimlessly I came upon Baked Jelly Donuts for Hanukkah http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/breakfast/baked-jelly-donuts-for-hanukkah/ at Cooking with My Kid. I “knew” these would be “on the list” But like with most things I cook or create, I enjoy mini bites!! YOU? Makes me “feel” like I “indulge” and “am “naughty“, but gives me FULL satisfaction that I CAN have my Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts with No Peek Sugarless Strawberry Jam AND enjoy it too! πŸ˜‰

Ingredients for Jam
1 pint (2 cups) strawberries, tips cut
2 cups Xylitol (original recipe called for sugar)
2 tablespoons lemon juice

Mash strawberries. (take back of knife and push down*)
Place mashed fruit in pan on stove top; cover and simmer on low for 5 minutes until juice comes out. DO NOT PEEK! lol
Uncover and simmer stirring 15 minutes until reduced.**
Add sugar and lemon juice; bring back to a simmer.
Simmer an additional 10- 15 minutes until reduced. (Making sure the jam does not stick to the pan)
Place teaspoon of jam on a plate; place in freezer for 2 minutes. Jam is one when is spreadable, not super thick.

Hint and Tip
*If strawberries are very juicy, gently mash or you will be covered with strawberry fruit juice. πŸ™‚
**I MUST have seen one too many episodes of Iron Chef, as I took two wooden spoons and introduced them to each other lol. I then place both spoons with their heads down and moving up and down, I “lightly” pounded (in a quick motion) the strawberry flesh to the consistency I wanted. I still kept some small lumpy bits (as I LOVE that about jam), but I “pounded” the rest; is fun really! πŸ˜‰

NOTE
Jam will stay in the fridge for 2 weeks if properly sealed.

So you know that pectin contains sugar? Pectin is a natural form of sugar; found in vegetables and fruit. It comes in liquid or powdered form. Some fruits are higher in pectin than others. I chose strawberries as they are a low pectin fruit. In order for pectin to work (form a gel), there has to be a proper amount of sugar to fruit. πŸ™‚

Ingredients for Baked Donuts (Slighted Adapted)

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of salt
1 egg, lightly beaten
6 (170 grams) ounces vanilla bean yogurt (I used Vaalia brand)
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
2 teaspoons lemon juice
2 1/2 tablespoons Xylitol (original recipe calls for granulated sugar)
1/4 cup sugar + 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons butter, melted
homemade sugarless strawberry jam πŸ™‚

Pre-heat oven to 400F. (~200C)
In small bowl, combine 1/2 cup sugar and ground cinnamon.
In large bowl, combine sifted flour and dry ingredients.
In a separate bowl, stir together oil, lemon juice, sugar, egg and yogurt.
Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients, pour in wet ingredients; gently fold ingredients until combined.
In a Ziploc bag*** (or piping bag), place the batter; cut off tip of Ziploc.
Pipe batter into mini muffin trays 1/2 full.
Bake for 5 minutes or until golden brown.
Remove from oven; let cool 5 minutes before placing on a wire rack.
Dip the tops of the mini muffin in the melted butter then into the cinnamon sugar mixture; let cool slightly.
Fill a Ziploc (or piping bag) with No Peek Sugarless Strawberry Jam; “clip the tip” and fill.****

NOTE
Original recipe called for sprinkling the cinnamon sugar over the tops of the muffins. I found it easier to put the cinnamon sugar mixture on a flat plate and “quickly” stick the buttered top of the muffin in the mixture. If some of the butter comes off or clumps in the mixture; remove and continue the process.

***Great hint and tip I picked up recently to make adding batter into a Ziploc a lot easier! πŸ™‚
If using a medium size bag, place the bag inside a plastic jug and fold corners over the top of the jug. If using a small Ziploc bag, you can use a glass cup, using same instructions.

****It very well “might” have to do with my piping skills (but I yearn to continue to learn ;-)), but I thought it was easier to using the piping tip and place a whole in the mini muffins. I found it made it A LOT easier when the Ziploc with jam filled the mini muffins. It could also have to do with the fact, that mini muffins are more fragile that “fuller sized” ones. πŸ˜‰

And just like my “suggestion” previously “DO NOT PEEK” at this point, my “suggestion” would be “DO NOT OVERFILL!” πŸ˜‰

Repeat after me, now that Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts with No Peek Sugarless Strawberry Jam were “on the list” and now are “off the list“, I CAN do them too! WHOO HOO!

If you could be any flavor combination donut, what would you be?

Other than Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts with No Peek Sugarless Strawberry Jam, I think I could see me as Tiramisu Mini Donut too! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

5 thoughts on “Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts with No Peek Sugarless Strawberry Jam

  1. […] 5 – 0 song again like in Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts with No Peek Sugarless Strawberry Jam https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/holy-moley-baked-donuts-with-no-peek-sugarless-strawb…) the net and an image “jumped” out in front of me. It was then that I saw Detox: […]

  2. I like the idea of these baked donuts! They look really good! And a sugarless jam? How clever! It sounds much better than the sugarless ones I used to eat :S

  3. Kim says:

    They are just simply decadent looking! Me, I would be probably strawberry as well; but raspberry would be a close second. I love the small … almost doughnut hole size. Really nice.

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

