Kotobuki Pie with Candied Walnuts

5

January 12, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Kotobuki Pie with Candied Walnuts

Who says you cannot have your healthy cake and eat it too? (In this case, pie ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

When I saw Melissa’s Sweet Potato Pie with Candied Walnuts http://pathtowellness.com.au/sweet-potato-pie-with-candied-walnuts/ on her Path to Wellness website, I was “intrigued” by the ingredients, as I have never used raw coconut oil, coconut butter (NO, not copha which is made from hydrogenated from coconut oil; might taste okay, but is not the healthiest) or vanilla bean powder before. Needless to say this was a recipe was definitely going to make it “on the list” ๐Ÿ˜‰ With a little bit of a twist, I made Kotobuki Pie with Candied Walnuts today! ๐Ÿ™‚

Coconut Oil Coconut Butter

Sometimes I feel like a Food Adventurer Explorer discovering new recipes all around the globe! (See my Spinning Globe Persian Pomegranate and Pistachio Meatballs https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/1130/ for globe spinning lol ) Part of the “thrill” is the “search and explore” and part of the thrill is sourcing food products I have never used before. ๐Ÿ™‚

While at my local Fruit and Veg shopping for sweet potatoes for this recipe, I saw these “purple” sweet potato and I became distracted as can be! “I wonder what they taste like? I wonder what with them I can do?” It was not long before the owner provided my answer too! I love learning new things about food! YOU? ๐Ÿ™‚

I learned there are different varieties of sweet potatoes; some dating back 10,000 years. China produces the most sweet potato. Sweet potatoes don’t like cold climates or frost. (Neither do I ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) The ones that “caught my eye”, (have a food attention span of a five year old sometimes lol) were the Kotobuki.

Did you know they are higher in Vitamin A than other sweet potatoes?

Kotobuki Pie with Candied Walnuts

Their skins are light reddish-brown and “taste like chestnut” “Taste like chestnut?” I S-Q-U-E-A-L-E-D!!! Luckily it was a low squeal and there was only a few people in the grocer at the time. I am used to strangers looking at me strangely in food stores! lol So, I introduced myself to the Kotobuki and now this Japanese sweet potato is friends with me! ๐Ÿ™‚ I was also not previously aware these Orientals (as they are commonly called) are drier and not widely used outside of Japanese cooking.

As a picture is worth a thousand words, I thought you would like to see “the 4 main types of sweet potato grown.”
Types of Sweet Potato ; photo sourced via Earl’s Organic Produce
http://www.earlsorganic.com/is-it-a-sweet-potato-or-a-yam/

Ingredients

For the Crust

3 cups walnuts
3 tablespoons organic raw honey
1 tablespoon raw coconut oil, melted
ยพ teaspoons cinnamon
1/8 teaspoons nutmeg
Pinch of sea salt

For the Filling

ยผ cup coconut oil, melted
ยผ cup coconut butter, melted
ยพ cup filtered water
1 tablespoon raw organic honey
1 teaspoon vanilla bean powder
ยผ teaspoon nutmeg
ยฝ teaspoon ground ginger
3 cups of chopped kotobuki (original recipe calls for sweet potato)

For the Candied Walnut Topping

1 cup walnuts, roughly chopped
1 tablespoon raw organic honey
ยฝ teaspoon cinnamon
Pinch of sea salt

1. Place crust ingredients in a food processor; blend until combined.
2. Press mixture into 9 inch baking tin. (I used a fluted baking dish.) Place in freezer.
3. For filling ingredients, cook kotobuki until just about cooked.

NOTE: Seeing I am in the middle of a heatwave here, I decided to place the kotobuki on a paper towel on a plate in the microwave; making sure to prick both sides. I cooked them 10 minutes each side; Set aside to cool.

4. Place filling ingredients into a food processor; blend until combined.
5. Remove crust from freezer; top with filling ingredients. Place in the fridge.
6. In a small bowl, combine Candied Walnut Topping ingredients. Mix until walnuts are completely covered.
7. Sprinkle over pie. Please back in freezer for 3 hours.
8. Thaw about 20 – 30 minutes before serving and ENJOY! ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you ever cooked with Kotobuki? Will you be inspired now to do seeing this Kotobuki Pie with Candied Walnuts, which was “on the list” is now off the list too? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Kotobuki Pie with Candied Walnuts1

Follow up Note

Was very yummy and very sweet; definitely your sweet craving in the recipe cannot be beat! ๐Ÿ™‚ What a “very” positive first experience using raw coconut oil, coconut butter, vanilla bean powder and kotobuki too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

5 thoughts on “Kotobuki Pie with Candied Walnuts

  1. Who knew a kotobuki was a sweet potato? I stopped by because I was curious, and because the pie looked yummy, now I know a piece of information I probably would have one my whole life ignorant of! Thanks for sharing this delicious looking recipe on Foodie Friends Friday! HUGS!

  2. […] I am only now realizing that I also must like purple foods, as I have a natural attraction to them. (see Kotobuki Pie with Candied Walnuts re Purple Sweet Potatoes https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/12/kotobuki-pie-with-candied-walnuts/) […]

  3. What a lovely looking cake! I once made a raw cake with coconut oil but accidentally had a rancid one and it was gross. I was so upset as the nuts were really expensive ๐Ÿ˜ฆ This one looks markedly better!

    • Thanks Lorraine for your comments! Live and learn food wise as we go eh? ๐Ÿ™‚
      I always enjoy learning new things about all types of foods, organic or non-organic and from all cultures and lifestyles around the world too! ๐Ÿ™‚
      And failures are successes inside out too! ๐Ÿ™‚ WHOO HOO!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

ยฉ All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

