You Raise Me Up Almond Cupcakes — using a Dilmah Recipe

3

January 11, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Amore Almond Cupcakes

I always knew I was “destined” one day experience a “real” high tea. When I was little, hosting my imaginary tea party with my imaginary friends in Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/, I would go into intricate detail about the mini bite cupcakes I was going to make one day in the future.

Hands up, who “clips and snips” recipes from newspapers, magazines, mini-cookbooks and pamphlets you find?

Do you print out recipes found on the internet too? πŸ˜‰ Come on, is this “sounding” like YOU? πŸ˜‰

Once collected, do you them place them neatly in a folder and say, “I’ll make this one day!”; but never do?

And that does not stop the “clip and snip” obsession (in a good way) of adding to the folder over the “months and years” and putting all those “well intentioned” TO DO recipes “on the list” πŸ˜‰

So, if you are like me, you have created your own “What’s On The List?, TRUE! Perhaps we can compare lists when I host my next tea party too! πŸ˜‰

When I saw this Woman’s Day Magazine everyday FOOD mini cookbook with Dilmah Exceptional Italian Almond Cupcakes, I “knew” they were “on the list” and would be made with Amore one day (Italian for “love”) too!

Dilmah Italian Almond Tea
Ingredients:

3 Dilmah Italian Almond Real Leaf teabags
1/3 cup boiling water
125g (4.4oz) butter, softened
3 eggs
2/3 cup caster sugar
1 3/4 cups self-raising flour
1/3 cup slivered almonds

1. Preheat oven to 180C (350F).
2. In saucepan, add teabags to boiling water; allow to cool; remover teabags.
3. In a mixing bowl, combine tea water, butter, eggs, sugar and flour. With a mixer, beat for about 3 minutes or until smooth and creamy.
4. Oil spray mini cupcake trays and sprinkle with almonds.
5. Bake 15 minutes or until firm in the centre. Transfer to a wire rack to cool. ENJOY! πŸ™‚

NOTE:
—I filled the mini muffin trays 3/4 fill.
—No need to press almonds down into mixture.

My name is Joanne and I have to confess I am a BIG fan of Dilmah tea and the Dilmah “family” business and human philosophy. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I was very privileged to attend a “real” Dilmah high tea in Adelaide, two years ago. While Mr. Merrill J. Fernando was unable to attend due to ill health, his spirit “shines” through his son Dilhan. The name Dilmah was chosen by combining Mr. Fernando’s sons; Dilhan and Malik. I sat (honestly in “awe“) listening to Dilhan describe his “very proud tea family heritage”, and his “family’s” commitment to Dilmah tea. It was “obvious” through Dilhan’s words, they have “built their business around their love for tea” http://www.dilmahtea.com/dilmah-story/dilmah-difference

I was “enlightened” with the Six Pillars of Dilmah http://www.dilmahtea.com/dilmah-story/six-pillars

One of the most “touching statements” made (and I am paraphrasing) was when Dilhan stated “Our company is not only about profits, but in helping to change lives” ; which led to “the creation of the MJF Charitable Foundation” http://www.mjffoundation.org/

Did you know “every time you purchase a pack of Dilmah Tea, you are helping the Dilmah family further their mission to make business a matter of human service.”?

In 2007, Dilmah Conservation http://www.dilmahconservation.org/ was established.

Other than water, did you know tea is the most popular beverage in the world?

“Merrill J. Fernando, a man of ordinary means who started with nothing, devoted his life to fulfilling a dream.” *

Oh, yes, how I digress! πŸ˜‰ See how “easy” it is for me to write about my passion of You Raise Me Up Almond Cupcakes and Dilmah tea?? πŸ™‚

*I have a dream to follow my passion wherever travel takes me!

*I dream one day to meet Mr. Merrill J. Fernando, his sons Dilhan and Malik, the whole Dilmah worker “family” in Sri Lanka and thank them for making this world a much better place and in making a difference in people’s lives.

When I heard Josh Groban’s song You Raise Me Up as part of the Dilmah high tea presentation in Adelaide, I “knew” making Dilmah tea recipes was “on the list” for me! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I think this is a Dilmah Moment, Don’t you? I will be enjoying a cup of tea and perhaps a cupcake or two! πŸ˜‰

Please enjoy You Raise Me Up performed on Ellen by Josh Groban and the African’s Children’s Choir with a cup of Dilmah tea.
You Raise Me Up
Click to listen πŸ˜‰

What is your favorite Dilmah tea? My favorite is Yatawatte Single Region Luxury Tea:

“The expressiveness of a good Cabernet Sauvignon can be experienced in this dark brown tea. It tastes round, full, almost muscular, and juicy, with elements of ever so slightly sweet – spices and bay leaf. Very restoring indeed.”
http://onlineshop.dilmah.com.au/products/Yatawatte-Single-Region-Luxury-Tea-Cup-Bags-20%27s.html#

Yatawatte Single Region Luxury Tea

I hope you enjoyed this post as much as me! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

FOLLOW UP NOTE:
When you think of this recipe, I would “suggest” you think more of it like an Italian biscotti biscuit to dunk in tea rather than a light, airy cupcake. πŸ˜‰

3 thoughts on “You Raise Me Up Almond Cupcakes — using a Dilmah Recipe

  1. […] and snipped” (See You Raise Me Up Almond Cupcakes — using a Dilmah Recipe https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/amore-almond-cupcakes-using-a-dilmah-recipe/) this Sauteed Squid with Chorizo Salad recipe featured in Woman’s Day Magazine highlighting […]

  2. Those teas are great to work with aren’t they? Although to be honest, this isn’t my favourite out of the lot to drink. It’s better to cook with πŸ˜›

    • Thanks Lorraine πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to try more of Dilmah’s teas to cook with, TRUE!
      Seeing I am a BIG Cab Sab enthusiast πŸ˜‰ I go for the Yatawatte Single Region Luxury Tea too!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

