Wrap Yourself Happy Manti

11

January 10, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Image

After my “feel good” Happy 80th Birthday Mum’s Special Spice Cake post https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/happy-80th-birthday-mums-special-spice-cake/ yesterday, (and STILL on a “happy food” high), I decided to make this Manti recipe which appears on the my Barbarian Table blog http://mybarbariantable.blogspot.com.au/2010/09/pfb-2-manti-ottoman-empires-precious.html and has been “on the list” due to food curiosity “for a while“. I thought today would be a good day to continue celebrating how I “wrapped myself happy” ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

What is it? Is it a dumpling? Is it a mantou*, baozi**,mandu***, or momo**? Maybe it’s a pierogi or a pelmeni? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Initially the sun dial presentation drew me in, but I love dishes that have a “unique” cultural history. While I had the choice of meat filled or pumpkin, I am definitely a meat lover! ๐Ÿ™‚

Open my freezer, what did I see? Some finely ground turkey staring back at me! ๐Ÿ™‚ While I can “appreciate” “the meat staple of Turkey is lamb“, I always like to use up what I have in the freezer, fridge or pantry too! Trust me, the “WIDE” variety of items will perk anyone’s food curiosity too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Ingredients

2 pounds (~900 grams) ground turkey
1 red onion, finely grated
1 bunch parsley, finely chopped
1 egg
1 egg white
1 cup beef broth
4 โ€“ 6 ounces butter
Salt and pepper to taste
20 โ€“ 25 spring roll wrappers*

1. In large bowl, combine all above ingredients (except spring roll wrappers)
2. In small bowl, whisk egg white.
3. Place spring roll wrappers on a plate; cover with damp towel.
4. โ€œAssemble, Assemble, Assembleโ€ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ; place one spring roll wrapper on flat surface. Brush whisked egg white all around outside of wrapper.
5. Place ~1 tablespoon of mixture towards top of spring roll wrapper.
6. Pull bottom of spring roll wrapper to meet to top of the spring roll wrapper; seal tops and side pushing out any air and so that meat โ€œpeeks out the topโ€ from the middle of the spring roll wrapper only. (see hints and tips)
7. Place wrapped Manti in an oil sprayed oval baking pan.
8. Preheat oven to 350F (180C); Bake for 12 minutes.
9. Cut butter into pieces; set aside.
10. Remove dish from oven; place butter on top on Manti; spreading around. Add beef broth; returning to oven for 15 minutes or until lightly golden brown on sides of Manti.
ENJOY!

HINTS and TIPS
—would suggest you work with up to 4 or more spring roll wrappers at a time making sure to keep damp tea towel over the remaining spring rolls so as to not dry out.
—after sealing Manti, I flattened meat down carefully so was in line with the top of the wrapper. In some cases, I had to gently squeeze the meat up to meet the top of the spring roll wrapper.
—it may โ€œsoundโ€ difficult and trust me, the first wrapper you will be handling it so gingerly and after wrapping one or two, you will get the knack and be a โ€œfull speed aheadโ€ assembly line too! ๐Ÿ˜‰
—oval baking pan makes for a wonderful sundial presentation, but if donโ€™t have an oval baking pan, create your own pan versatility! ๐Ÿ˜‰
—should you wish your Manti to be more โ€œcrispyโ€ on top, place under broiler for 2 minutes or until desired crispy golden brown.

I LOVED how this dish came out and would DEFINITELY make it again!

Follow Up Note:
While I was “more than” happy with the results, in re-reading the recipe (and in my EXCITEMENT in making), I forgot to place this under the broiler/griller. The results were still fantastic and I would describe this as a mix between “stuffed ravioli” (made with spring rolls lol) and a European beef broth with butter sauce which is warm and comforting; like something I “vividly” remember from my childhood; as one of my nicknames from my “adopted” Jewish grandmother was “My Little Dumpling” (amongst other names too!) I am very pleased now I can share the memory with you! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

Do you have any food related nicknames?

So, have I “inspiredYOU to now make this Wrap Yourself Happy Manti too? ๐Ÿ˜‰

So now that this Wrap Yourself Happy Manti recipe which was “on the list” is now “off the list“, repeat after me “I want to Wrap Myself Happy making Manti too! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you always like to see what’s inside a dish like me? Love the beef broth butter sauce “bubbling” back at me! ๐Ÿ˜‰

NOTE:I used half the spring roll wrappers in Wrap Yourself Happy Manti; the other half I rolled the meat mixture into gnocchi size and will steam at a later date to compare taste and texture. I “sense” I already know the winning recipe? YOU? ๐Ÿ˜‰

*steamed bun originating from China.
**known as bao or bau, is a type of steamed, filled bun or bread-like item in Chinese cuisine.
***dumplings in Korean cuisine; similar to a pierogi or pelmeni in Slavic cultures.
****type of dumpling native to Bhutan, China, Tibet, bordering regions of Nepal,and the Himalayan states of India.

UPDATE
This week I was invited by Jenny to Rate The Plate Utah: “Food Holiday Linky Party: National Turkey Lover’s Month.” I thought my Wrap Yourself Happy Manti would be an “unusual” dish to bring!

As a follow up, my recipe was “featured” as part of Rate The Plate utah: “Foodie Holiday Linky Party National Turkey Lover’s Month!

Image

11 thoughts on “Wrap Yourself Happy Manti

  1. Joanne, congrats girl…you were featured in Rate the Plate Utah! yeayyy!

  2. […] “ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE, ASSEMBLE!” (like in Wrap Yourself Happy Manti ) […]

  3. […] Assemble, Assemble (I must like saying that 3 times just like I did in Wrap Yourself Happy https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/10/1252/ […]

  4. Kim says:

    Who would of thought those were dumplings … NOT me. What a fun and delicious looking dish. The presentation is just so pretty!

  5. I love the presentation of these dumplings! I want to give them a go now too! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

ยฉ All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

