Squidalicious Stir Fry

5

January 4, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

Squidalicious Stir Fry

SQUIDALICIOUS! I like how that “sounds” to say! ๐Ÿ™‚

When I was little, am sure words sounding like this not only made it into my vocabulary, but like in my Scintillatingly Seductive Sweet Potato Lemon Ginger Delights recipe,
https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/26/scintillatingly-seductive-sweet-potato-lemon-ginger-delights/, I am positive I must have went about my merry way to all adults saying, “It’s a Squidalicious day, don’t you think? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Let me tell you, this “slightly adaptedSquid Stir Fry recipe found on Poh’s Kitchen http://www.abc.net.au/tv/pohskitchen/stories/s3035109.htm really “MADE MY DAY!”

As a result of this first WONDERFUL experience cooking Squid, I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND you check out squid with black beans and celery in Poh’s Kitchen: My Cooking Adventures cookbook; As seen on ABC TV.

Why have I never made Squid before? I have NO CLUE! The fact is I never grew up eating Squid, so opportunities were missed when I was little (sitting at the dinner table) to introduce any other foods to Mr Squid; like I did with introducing Mr. Asia to meet Mr. Europe. (Reference coming in my future Vive la France Prawn Croissant) post. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Squidalicious Stir Fry1

Ingredients:
250 grams squid, cleaned*
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1 cm ginger, cut into batons
1/2 to 1 red chilli, sliced
1/2 continental cucumber, sliced diagonally (I then sliced them with an “X” shape)
1 tablespoon Chinese garlic chives**
1 1/2 tablespoons Chinese onion chives**
2 bok choy, finely sliced
1 – 2 tablespoons bamboo shoot, cut into batons***
2 tablespoons fermented black beans, washed, drain, chopped (See original recipe for “devil” comment ๐Ÿ™‚ )
1 teaspoon tamari
1 tablespoon oyster sauce
1 tablespoon shaoxin rice wine
1/4 teaspoon sesame oil
1/4 teaspoon Xylitol (original recipe states “sugar”)
6 spring onions, sliced on a diagonal

Heat deep fry pan; add oil. Sautรฉ garlic, ginger, bamboo shoots and chives until fragrant. (About 1 -2 minutes)
Add chilli and squid. Cook until squid just begins to curl.
Add cucumber, black beans, shaoxin rice wine, oyster sauce, sesame oil, and Xylitol. Toss about 30 seconds; Add spring onions and toss. Add bok choy; stir until wilted.
ENJOY! ๐Ÿ™‚

Is THAT it? SQUIDALICIOUS, it IS!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

FOLLOW UP NOTE:
I did not think there was any need for the slurry as the sauce was just right for me. ๐Ÿ™‚
Repeat after me, “I CAN now make this now that it is officially “off the list!” WHOO HOO!

Have you said SQUIDALICIOUS at least once mentally or out loud? ๐Ÿ˜‰

*see original recipe for instructions.
**used ingredients had on hand and did you know that chives are a good insect repellant for the garden? ๐Ÿ˜‰
***used ingredients had on hand.

5 thoughts on “Squidalicious Stir Fry

  1. […] on my WONDERFUL first experience with Squidalicious Stir Fry https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/04/943/, I ventured to see if I had put any other Squid dishes “on the list”! Low and behold, I […]

  2. christine morris says:

    Thanks so much for this Recipe Joanne , you have inspired me to give Squid a go. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mickeydownunder1 says:

      Thanks Christine! Glad we can be “inspired” together!

      In the next couple of days, I will be posting my second Squid recipe! Based on my VERY positive first experience, this has now given me the confidence to do! And Squid, which was “on the list” is now off the list too! WHOO HOO!

  3. Kim says:

    A decadently beautiful picture with great colors. That looks absolutely wonderful. It isn’t something I eat or cook often; but, it is however, a very delicious ingredient. That is a great looking dish and I love the list of ingredients.

    • mickeydownunder1 says:

      Thanks Kim! I was very proud of my first experience with Squid and look forward to my follow up posting re Squid coming soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

ยฉ All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.