If I Knew You Were Coming Pound Cake

8

January 2, 2013 by Joanne T Ferguson

If I Knew You Were Coming

When I was little…(I am now finding out I did quite a number of “whimsical” things) I am probably aging myself, but when I saw Doris Day singing Che Sera Sera in the 1956 movie The Man Who Knew Too Much, little did I know that not only would “Che Sera Sera” become my life philosophy, but “Doris” would become my friend too! πŸ™‚

I am only now remembering all the singing, dancing and music I associated with food (when I was little) and thought nothing of getting a soup spoon out, dancing around, singing songs from my friends. After all, Doris Day was “everyone’s” friend. Right? πŸ˜‰

Another of my favorite songs to sing (Trust me, I can neither sing, nor dance to this date! lol) was The 1950’s (before my time) Ellen Barton’s “If I Knew You Were Coming, I’d’ve Baked a Cake” Please feel free to click on the link and listen to my childhood cake idol! πŸ˜‰

I could AMUSE myself for hours pretending I was waiting for my unexpected guest to show up so I could go into song and look forward to “baking my cake”

The doorbell would ring; it was the postman. πŸ™‚ I would start singing, “If I Knew You Were Coming, I’d’ve Baked a Cake” ; MUCH to his amusement. Sometimes, I used to think even if he didn’t have any parcels to deliver, he would ring the bell KNOWING I would start singing! lol Oh, the things adults were entertained with “when I was little” lol

Which brings me to today’s cake. When I saw The Cook Notes on Rasa Malaysia with noting the Source as The Cake Book by Trish Doyle, “The heavy cream makes the pound cake extremely moist, which I think is the secret ingredient in this recipe.”, I knew this pound cake http://rasamalaysia.com/perfect-pound-cake/2/ was “on the list” πŸ™‚

“When I was little”, I grew up in a predominantly Jewish neighborhood where everyone visited each other, real conversations existed, and almost “everything” surrounded food. The highlights of the cakes, cookies, cupcakes offered (with milk for me) was “homemade” Pound Cake, “homemade”, Rugelach*, “homemade” Jelly donuts and or “homemade” Bobka** ; the “emphasis” being on “homemade” (I can see future blog post recipes coming, can you? πŸ˜‰

AS soon as one entered a friend’s house, the first question (or “sounded” like a statement to me) was “Have some Pound Cake”, “Have some Rugelach”, “Have some Bobka” This was usually followed with “You’re looking too thin. You need to eat more!” πŸ™‚ And my favorite was “Take some Pound Cake home!” πŸ˜‰

Just because I was at someone else’s home didn’t mean my never-ending curious mind did not ask questions. So, as our friend was getting coffee, tea or milk for me, I “tugged” on my mother’s arm and asked such questions as “So, WHAT’S pound cake?” “How is it made?” “Do they measure out the ingredients by pounds?” “Is THAT how it got it’s name?” To which my mother used to say, “LATER!” mmmmmmm When I was little, later never came. Sometimes (unfortunately for my mum), I would “remember” to ask her later and would get the same reply, “LATER!”

One day (on a “RARE”occasion when I was “not” being cheeky), I asked, “So when is later?” Needless to say my mum gave me “the look” (Again, that mother’s look) and it was then I “knew”, just eat my Pound Cake that I got to take home and ask my questions later! πŸ˜‰

Perfect Pound Cake Recipe

Makes one 9Γ—5-inch loaf cake
Source: The Cake Book, Tish Boyle
Ingredients:
2 cups (7 oz/200g) sifted cake flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 sticks (8 oz/227g) unsalted butter, softened
1 1/4 cups (8.8 oz/250g) granulated sugar
4 large eggs
1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest*
1 teaspoon grated orange zest*
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup (80ml) heavy cream
Method:
1. Preheat oven to 325 degree F. Grease the bottom and sides of a 9Γ—5-inch loaf pan. Dust the pan with flour.
2. Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt into a medium bowl, set aside.
3. Cream butter in a mixer at medium speed until very creamy, about 2 minutes. Gradually add the sugar and continue beating for 4 minutes until very light and fluffy, about 4 minutes. Reduce the speed to low and add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition and scraping down the sides of the bowl occasionally. Beat in the citrus zest and vanilla extract. Add the flour mixture at low speed in three additions, alternating it with the heavy cream in two additions and mixing just until the flour is incorporated. Scrape the batter into the pan and smooth the top.
4. Bake for 60-70 minutes or until a cake tester inserted into the center come out clean. Remove from the oven and let cool on a wire rack for 20 minutes. Slice into pieces and serve.

HOW did Pound Cake get it’s name?

“The name Pound Cake comes from the fact that the original pound cake contained one pound each of butter, sugar, eggs, and flour. No other ingredients were used other than the air whipped into the batter. In the days when many people couldn’t read, this simple convention made it simple to remember recipes.”
http://www.poundcake.net/

Did you know there are “various” styles of Pound Cake such as German, Mexican, French, Colombian and British to name a few?

I “wonder” what the difference between the styles are? You?

I hope I can inspire you to make If I Knew You Were Coming Pound Cake now that it is “off the list” too! πŸ™‚

This is how it starts and various recipes make “the list” πŸ˜‰

FOLLOW UP NOTE:
I initially baked the cake on 170C for 50 minutes; was golden brown, but the middle was not done. I placed al foil over the cake and baked it for an additional 12 minutes.

I “may” have added a “smidge” more zest πŸ˜‰

8 thoughts on “If I Knew You Were Coming Pound Cake

  1. […] You know me by now with songs (and dance lol) with all things food like in If I Knew You Were Coming Pound Cake! […]

  2. […] We already know what my dancing skills are (lol) like in If I Knew Your Were Coming Pound Cake […]

  3. […] and singing. (Did I mention I can’t sing like in If I Knew You Were Coming Pound Cake https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/800/ ? […]

  4. […] I can’t sing, but it never stopped me from doing! lol (Remember in If I Knew You Were Coming Pound Cake? https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/800/ […]

  5. […] I “particularly” remember (perhaps we always timed our visits to coincide:) the wonderful fresh pasta dough; some were kneading while others were drying, others were boiling pots of water. Mostly what I also remember was “β€œYou’re looking too thin. You need to eat more!” (but in Italian or Greek ) like in If I Knew You Were Coming Pound Cake” https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/800/ […]

  6. […] I used to sing (remember I can’t sing reference in If I Knew You Were Coming Pound Cake https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/800/ […]

  7. I love the name of this cake Joanne! And funnily enough, my sister brought me some rugelach and babka from Zabar’s in New York as a Christmas present! πŸ˜›

    • mickeydownunder1 says:

      Interesting connection and wavelengths indeed and thank you Lorraine! πŸ˜‰
      Remember their products well! Nothing can compare to Zabar’s products, TRUE!
      Look forward to making rugelach and bobka too πŸ™‚
      Hope I can “inspire” people to make once they are off my what’s “on the list” WHOO HOO!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

Β© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

