Found in Translation Chorizo and Red Onion Bread

8

December 31, 2012 by Joanne T Ferguson

My Spanish Cho-RIZO

Cho-RIZO! I would go around the house when I was little exclaiming: Cho-RIZO! Why? Like anything else I ever did when I was little, very little made sense to the people around me, but made PERFECT sense to me! I wanted to speak Spanish and I “thought” if I said “Cho-RIZO” many times, I would “perfect” the Spanish language!

I would brush my teeth in front of the mirror and say, “I l-o-o-v-e Cho-RIZO!” and would follow with “Would you like some Cho-RIZO today?” lol

When I was little, I had “NO CLUE” what Cho-RIZO was as I “sense” I never ate Chorizo when I was growing up! (ok, I will cut it out as I can hear the 5 year old in me wanting to speak Spanish again lol) I guess I “more than make up for it now” as I LOVE Chorizo! (And that’s in my American-Aussie accent!)

I now know that just like people, chorizo comes in many shapes and sizes. But “unlike” humans, chorizo is “cured, fermented or smoked” and I usually use the method of “slice and eat” without cooking. Spanish and Portuguese chorizo gets its “smokiness” and “color” from paprika also called pimentón.

So might I say (as the advertisements in Australia) “suggest”…”Get Some Pork on Your Fork!” And make it “Cho-RIZO” (I couldn’t help myself!)

Which brings me to “What’s on the List” today! My name is Joanne (or Gerry* lol 😉 and I am NOT a baker; but guess a part of me YEARNS to LEARN to be!
(*see my Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine reference) https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/

I have only started making bread “the old fashioned way” a few years ago, TRUE! I have a secret confession….I LOVE “kneading” and can “knead” the day away too!

So, what I “kneaded” to do (sorry for the baking pun lol) is to make a “stuffed bread” as has been “on the list” and something I have always wanted to do!

Ingredients:

500 grams, sifted bread flour*

1 packet (7 grams) yeast

1 teaspoon granulated salt

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon organic raw honey, virgin blend

350 ml warm water

¼ – ¾ of red onion, small diced (I like onions)

1 ½ chorizo, small diced

NOTE: I diced the onion and chorizo same size for consistency in the bread

In large bowl, combine sifted flour, yeast and salt.

In a measuring jug, add warm water, honey and oil.

In large bowl, make a well, pour jug mixture in and mix together.

NOTE: I find mixing with my hands is best, but can use a wooden spoon until combined and mixture is clean from the sides of the bowl. Place mixture on a “floured” surface and knead about 10 minutes straight until dough is smooth. Many years ago, someone “suggested” smooth is “as smooth” as a baby’s bum. Hope this helps! 😉

Place the kneaded dough on an oiled tray, cover with cling wrap and set aside for 1 hour.

Uncover, “PUNCH” the dough down and let all the air out of the dough.Roll dough out to rectangular shape placing the chorizo and onion on half of the dough. Fold over one half of the dough to meet the other side and seal the dough. Move the entire sealed dough to the middle of the baking tray so it can evenly bake. Cover and set aside for another hour.

In pre heated oven at 200C, bake for 20 minutes or until lightly golden brown.Remove from oven, let sit for 5 minutes before cutting and ENJOY!

*I used Lighthouse Flour and thought their blog entry entitled “Tipo “OO” vs. Bread & Pizza Flour – what’s the difference?  provides a very good explanation on a question I often get asked.
http://lighthousebaking.com.au/tippo-00-vs-bread-pizza-flour-whats-the-difference-402/

FOLLOW UP NOTE:

After step 7, I YELLED, “Honey I BLEW up the bread!”,
but I guess it is better than “Honey, I Shrunk The Kids!” 😉

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0097523/

My Spanish Cho-RIZO1

8 thoughts on “Found in Translation Chorizo and Red Onion Bread

  1. G’day Joanne, Thanks for sharing this post and recipe. I just love reading your posts. I can only imagine how my posts would sound if I would try to put my stories in print. I’m not sure they would be as entertaining as yours. I love the stuffed bread recipe too. I’m going to have to make this, my son-in-law will love it. He’s a big fan of Chorizo. Thanks for sharing it with Foodie Friends Friday this week.

    I hope you are felling better today, and wish you a happy weekend!
    Joanne

  2. peachyvous La says:

    what is granulated salt ( in the recipe )  ??

    ________________________________

    • I used Pink Himalayan Salt which is a hand-mined salt that contains natural trace elements to your body and derived from the foothills of the Himalayan Mountain. It comes in fine or course and can be easily obtained at a local health food store, online; our local supermarkets stock it.

      I find it brings out the flavors in both cooking and baking.

      Himalayan salt provide numerous other health benefits as opposed to common table salt.

      Thank you for asking the question as this is how we all learn together too! 🙂

  3. Joanne, we’re on the same wavelength! I made a chorizo dish for NYE. We just love the stuff! 😀 Happy New Year to you and your family! 😀

    • Thank you and WHOO HOO! Happy New Year’s to you and your family too Lorraine!
      I will be incorporating chorizo in a Catalonia highlighted seafood recipe I have “on the list” 😉

      • Deb says:

        Oh that story is too funny, my brother and I used to sing the Frito Bantio commercial jingle to my mother was ready to scream.

      • mickeydownunder1 says:

        G’day and thank you Deb! Laughter is always the best food medicine! 😉

        And YES, I DO remember the Frito Bandito song too! lol

        Don’t get me started on the Oscar Mayer Wiener song lol

        GREAT memories in jingles!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

