Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine

8

December 29, 2012 by Joanne T Ferguson

Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine

When I was little, it was “suggested” that I need to believe in something. Cheekily, I would reply, “I believe in the spirit of Christmas!” “I believe in myself” (thought that one “may” have sounded too simple at the time! lol) and “I believe I lived one of my (many) lives as a Jeweled Queen of the Nile!” Simple…While I don’t think my replies were anticipated (nothing I ever said was!), I don’t think my replies were the sort of answers that were expected either!

I have ALWAYS been “fascinated” with everything Egyptian and always “knew” one day it would be “my destiny” to see! I would discuss my future travels with my imaginary friends over my imaginary high tea party!

I must have seen it in a movie once on high tea etiquette (let’s remember I was VERY little and VERY impressionable too!”) So in my best English accent (which was incredibly bad at the best of times), I would say to my imaginary friends, “How DO you DO?” and could continue the conversation for what “seemed” like hours of enjoyment too! I would always be the perfect host and make sure to ask “Would you like more tea today too?” And perhaps if they were “lucky” ;-), I would share my imaginary scones and biscuits recipes!

My imaginary friends would comment on my imaginary Egyptian jewels and ask about my latest Egyptian antique treasure. Talking almost non-stop about my future travels to the Pyramids, I would exclaim that in my past life, I was the REAL jeweled Queen of the Nile. My imaginary tales of adventures sharing with my imaginary friends ALWAYS gave me pleasure!

You can only IMAGINE” my S-Q-U-E-A-L of delight when last year I WON a trip to Egypt! WHOO HOO! I “always” knew I was “destined” to see, experience and…

Oh yes, I get SO distracted sometimes with travel and food. It was only when I saw this Jeweled Grape Terrine from Good Housekeeping Magazine http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/recipefinder/jeweled-grape-terrine-ghk , I YELLED out “IT’S ON THE LIST TOO”And “I should wish to recreate this recipe too!” It’s a good thing that people know how my mind works when it comes to food! And, um, no one was around at the time too!

I have a child-like mind of a five year old (as you will come to read) and anything that ‘wiggles and jiggles food wise” totally EXCITES me! So combining my childhood passions, the more “mature” me decided to not only have this terrine off the list, TRUE! But I was going to BE The Jeweled Grape Terrine Queen! lol I now present my “very slightly” altered recipe for you to enjoy too!

Ingredients:

2 envelopes unflavored gelatin
1/2 cup cold water
1/2 cup sugar
2 1/2 cups late harvest Riesling, (or other sweet white wine)
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 1/3 cups seedless red grapes, chilled
1 1/3 cups seedless green grapes, chilled
1 1/3 cups seedless black grapes, chilled

1. In cup, evenly sprinkle gelatin over water. Let stand 2 minutes to allow gelatin to absorb liquid and soften slightly.

2. In 2-quart saucepan, heat sugar and 1 cup Riesling on medium-low, stirring occasionally until sugar dissolves. Stir in softened gelatin mixture, and heat 1 to 2 minutes or until gelatin dissolves, stirring frequently. Remove saucepan from heat. Stir in lemon juice and remaining 1 1/2 cups Riesling.

3.Pour gelatin mixture into 9″ by 5″ loaf pan.* Refrigerate 1 1/2 hours to let it set slightly. Add grapes, distributing evenly; cover and refrigerate overnight, until firm.

*I used an lightly oil sprayed silicone loaf pan; same dimensions.

HINT AND TIP:

After adding the grapes, I took the back of a spoon and slightly pushed them down into the gelatin.

Next time, I would add a “touch” more grapes.

Please take care when you cut the terrine slightly as if not “fully” set, it can break apart if you are not gentle when it “wiggles and jiggles” too!;-)

8 thoughts on “Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine

  1. […] It gave me SUCH pleasure to make a wish for all my imaginary friends. You remember by now, the ones I used to invite to my imaginary tea party in Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/? […]

  2. […] Do you think you are “naturally” drawn to people who are born in certain months? I do! People I knew in my past lives too! It was “quite “the topic of conversation” (when I was little lol) while hosting my imaginary tea party with my imaginary friends in Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine post https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/. […]

  3. […] Sister, my imaginary friend at my imaginary tea party. (See Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/ re imaginary friends at imaginary tea party […]

  4. […] my imaginary tea party with my imaginary friends in Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine post https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/, I would go into what’s “on the list” with Holy Moley Baked Mini Donuts with No […]

  5. […] hosting my imaginary tea party with my imaginary friends in Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/, I would go into intricate detail about the mini bite cupcakes I was going to make one day in the […]

  6. […] with my imaginary friends too,… (See my previous post Queen of the Nile Jewelled Grape Terrine https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/ ) as the “most enjoyable hostess”, I would serve a “special” and “easy” (but didn’t […]

  7. […] Which brings me to “What’s on the List” today! My name is Joanne (or Gerry* lol and I am NOT a baker; but guess a part of me YEARNS to LEARN to be! (*see my Queen of the Nile Jeweled Grape Terrine reference) https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/29/queen-of-the-nile-jeweled-grape-terrine-2/ […]

  8. Kim says:

    What a beautiful dish! What a fantastic dish summer, spring, fall or winter. How Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

