Beloved Burfi

5

December 28, 2012 by Joanne T Ferguson

Burfi

THIS is HOW it starts! I find something that visually appeals to me and quite possibly I have never heard of before! THIS “intrigues” me even more!

I am VERY happy I have some foodie friends who are AS PASSIONATE as me and they too are as (fun food) crazy as can be!

When I find something new, I want to know more! And isn’t that what the never-ending food journey is for? 

If you can imagine, I am the female version of Jerry Seinfeld (call me Gerry lol) and my friends are well and truly Kramer, Elaine, Newman and let’s not forget George! 😉 

So the scenario is set, and as Gerry, I start with “So, what’s a Burfi? Anyone know what a Burfi is?  It LOOKS like a Burfi, so it must be a Burfi, yes? Is it a Burfi? lol
So, what’s a Burfi? And how many kinds of Burfi’s are there? Have I or you missed what a Burfi is? Where does it come from? Anyone make a Burfi? And you can now understand how my list of questions continue to flow about my curiosity about Burfis. Is more than one Burfi considered Burfis? Trust me, my curiosity will test the best of people and friends at the best of times TRUE!! Is just me and my food personality too! 🙂

Have you ever wondered if you were a food, what would you be? I have a ‘What’s On The List” food chameleon personality! 

So, this brings me with “What is a Burfi? A Burfi is a milk with cheese nut sweet dessert.

When I came across this Ricotta Cheese Burfi at Simple Gluten Free Kitchen http://www.simpleglutenfreekitchen.com/2012/11/ricotta-cheese-burfi.html,once again, I “knew” I just had to put it “on the list.” ONE of the things that caught my eye was when Balvinder described her holiday of Diwali and said, “Most important of all – an occasion for loved ones to get together, share splendid meals and enjoy the moments of togetherness.” These words and sentiments were very special to me! It was then, I knew I wanted to make this recipe and changed very few things about how it was initially written too!

Ingredients:
600g extra smooth ricotta cheese
1 tin (400 grams) condensed milk
(1/4 cup) butter
6 drops of rose water
1/3 cup thinly sliced and chopped almonds and pistachios

1. Grease a cookie tray. Line with baking paper. *

2. Melt butter in a medium pan. Add ricotta cheese and cook on low medium heat stirring for 5 minutes.

3.Add condensed milk. Once the mixture is heated through (about 10 minutes), I kept the mixture on low heat; I then stirred for 20 minutes stirring frequently,until it thickens and forms a soft lump.** Stir in rose water.

4. Spread the mixture evenly in a greased tray to approximately 1/2″ thickness.

5. Sprinkle pistachio and almonds, press gently into the ricotta mixture. Set aside for 1 hour to an hour and a half.

6. Cut burfi in desired shape and separate out with a spatula. ENJOY!

Have you ever thought YOU were a character on television?

Can YOU imagine yourself making burfi now that it is off MY list and sharing with YOUR friends now too!

Burfi

Did you know there are many different kinds of burfi also called barfi and burfee?
The most traditional and nostalgic burfi are coconut.

The burfi (I now know that more than one burfi are called burfis) can be made up to two days in advance, but needs to be refrigerated and is best removed from the refrigerator one hour before serving!
Hope you enjoy now too!

* I used a silicon baking pan lightly oil sprayed

FOLLOW UP NOTE:Initially, I did not know what it meant “forms a soft lump”, but I can assure you that something “does” happen to the mixture as you continue to stir it; a shimmering, glimmering very light “magical”coating starts to appear and all of a sudden you can “feel” the mixture is done! Trust me!;-)
Always enjoy learning something new! YOU? 🙂

5 thoughts on “Beloved Burfi

  1. Kim says:

    I am another who had no idea what a Burfi is. Interesting sounds very nice. You did a great job with your tips and information regarding what a Burfi actually is. We continue to learn something new every day. Cooking really is an adventure.

  2. Deb says:

    Thanks Joanne as I did not know what a Burfi was and thought all your fallow up tips were great.

  3. mickeydownunder1 says:

    G’day and big thanks for that. Always something to learn in the never ending food journey!
    Hint and Tip to myself: Photograph quicker in this heat as it started to melt 🙂 I thoroughly enjoyed my first experience and hope I can in turn inspire people to make too! WHOO HOO!

  4. Balvinder says:

    Hi Joanne, I am more glad then you that you tried a dessert that you have never heard of. By soft lump I meant a soft compact mass. When I look at your picture of the burfi It looks good but it has not reached that soft lumpy texture which is easier to cut once set. Have a good day and enjoy burfi!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.