Scintillatingly Seductive Sweet Potato Lemon Ginger Delights

7

December 26, 2012 by Joanne T Ferguson

Scintillatingly Seductive Sweet Potato Lemon Ginger Delights

When I was little, I used to read the dictionary “for fun”.

Encyclopedia Britannica was my best friend, who provided non-ending enjoyment of BIG words to pronounce, use the word in a sentence and oh yes, find out the meaning too!

Sadly, due to technology, my childhood friend (once the 2010 stock runs out — have 4,000 copies left!) will no longer be published in print after 260 years! More than 7 million copies were sold!

Later in my adult life, I “reveled” in the Word of the Day calendars.

It became my daily amusement to challenge friends to not only say the word of the day, but to use it in a sentence during THEIR day!

You can only imagine the strange stares we would get as we confidently exclaimed: “I scintillatingly must say these seductive lemon ginger cookies made my day!” lol

I recently came across The Roasted Root blog post for Sweet Potato Ginger Cookies, and knew they just had to be put “on the list”.

Something about reading how via the Lemons and Lavender blog post were described as “being more like muffin tops or whoppie pies than cookies”, “intrigued” me.

So, slightly altered in a Scintillatingly Seductive way, I hope these Sweet Potato Lemon Ginger Delights make your day!

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1-1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger
  • zest of 1 lemon*
  • 250 grams (8.4 ounces) butter melted,
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • ½ cup xylitol**
  • 1 large egg (700grams), room temperature
  • 1 cup mashed sweet potato (1 medium sweet potato)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    1.  While you can spend an hour baking the sweet potato, I like to place it in the microwave on a paper towel for about 8 – 10 minutes a side; until done. Don’t forget to prick them!
    2. In a bowl, combine the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg and whisk to combine.*** Set aside.
    3.  In a mixer, combine the sugar and butter**** until smooth.
    4.  Add the sweet potato  puree, ground ginger, lemon zest, and vanilla and mix to combine.
    5.  Add the egg and mix just until incorporated.
    6.  Slowly incorporate the flour mixture into the wet mixture just until the dough forms.
    7.  On lightly oiled baking paper, drop spoonfuls of dough.
    8. Bake on 180C (350F) for 12 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.

    Lemon Glaze

    2 cups confectioners sugar
    1/2 teaspoon lemon zest (optional)
    2 tablespoons lemon juice,
    8 tablespoons water

    Add the powdered sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, and 8 tablespoons of water***** into a small bowl and mix well.  Place approximately 1/2 teaspoon of glaze on each cookie.
    Scinitllatingly Seductive Sweet Potato Lemon Ginger Delights1

    HINT AND TIP
    It is best to glaze when cookies are cool. ENJOY!

    What is your favorite cookie?

    Do you prefer glazed or unglazed delights?

*I used my microplane today as I am a gadget type of gal 🙂 and my zester seemed to be playing “Hide and Seek” in the Utility drawer.

It IS the Silly Season here in the Land Down Under! lol

**Original recipe calls for the same amount of granulated sugar.

***Oops, if you are like me, I sometimes “drift off” after reading the recipe and when I see the word combine, I invite all the ingredients in the bowl to play together. In this case, oops, I added the lemon zest and ground ginger at this point, but it did not affect the recipe! 🙂

****Original recipe calls to cream the butter together. I melted the butter for easy and simplicity. It did not affect the recipe.

*****I like a thin glaze on my cookies “on occasion”, so diluted the glaze from the original recipe; personal taste for me.

If you enjoyed this post, follow me via Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest. Thank you!

7 thoughts on “Scintillatingly Seductive Sweet Potato Lemon Ginger Delights

  1. […] Scintillatingly Seductive Sweet Potato Lemon Ginger Delights […]

  2. angelamroberts says:

    Yum. Sweet potato cookies. I’ll bet they would make a kitchen smell wonderful too.

  3. […] about where they lived etc, I “ran” to my Encyclopedia Britannia (See my reference via https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/26/scintillatingly-seductive-sweet-potato-lemon-ginger-d…) and found out what it had too! (This was in the days pre-Google searches, pre-Yahoo searched, […]

  4. […] my vocabulary, but like in my Scintillatingly Seductive Sweet Potato Lemon Ginger Delights recipe, https://whatsonthelist.wordpress.com/2012/12/26/scintillatingly-seductive-sweet-potato-lemon-ginger-d…, I am positive I must have went about my merry way to all adults saying, “It’s a […]

  5. Kim says:

    Scrumptious!! These sound delicious.

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

