Dreamy Creamy Porcini and Shiitake Mushroom Risotto

4

December 26, 2012 by Joanne T Ferguson

Dreamy Creamy Porcini and Shiitake Risotto

Here is my confession for today! My name is Joanne and I have NEVER made risotto at home!
Why? Again, I have no clue and once again am at a loss for words; the second time this happened this week writing this blog!

I sometimes wonder if it is only me that “Eats, Sleeps, Drinks and Dreams” about food or anything or anyone food related. Did I mention anyone? Oops!

I have this recurring dream about being in the kitchen and “the time has come” for me to cook risotto! I seemingly get “entranced” in the experience, taking in the smells, the taste, looking for the perfect textured risotto when I hear Chef Ramsay YELL:
“JOANNE, WHERE IS MY RISOTTO? lol

It happens EVERY time I hear his voice, I “excitedly” exclaim “YES CHEF!” (Thankfully in my dreams and not out loud!)

I wonder if chefs are amused to hear that they regularly show up in a passionate home cook’s dreams? 🙂

Seeing I am curious about EVERYTHING food related, I can’t wait to read why Chef Marco Pierre White made Gordon Ramsay cry! I hope it was not over his risotto! lol I think I have digressed!

In “honor” of celebrating getting the risotto “off the list”, I thought I would make Dreamy Creamy Porcini* and Shiitake Mushroom Risotto. I hope Chef Ramsay likes what I make the next time I hear his voice in my dreams too!

100 grams arborio rice

1 tablespoon olive oil

¼ red onion, finely diced

15 grams dried porcini mushrooms, rehydrated**

15 grams dried shiitake mushroom, rehydrated***

150 mls white wine

150 mls chicken stock

100 mls shitake mushroom water

50 grams parmigiano-reggiano cheese, grated

pinch sea salt

black pepper to taste

1 – 2 cloves garlic, minced

¼ tablespoon garlic puree

60 – 90 ml cream

  1. Rehydrate the mushrooms.
  2. Heat pan, add olive oil. Sauté red unions and mushrooms in oil.
  3. Add washed rice and garlic and garlic puree.
  4. Add wine, chicken stock, shiitake mushroom water and salt.
  5. Cook S-L-O-W-L-Y until rice is cooked (12-14 minutes); stirring frequently.
  6. Add cream and cheese, season and ENJOY!

NOTE: If the sauce is too thick, can always add more chicken stock or wine.

*Porcini means “piglets” in Italian; cèpe in French.
Did you know it takes 1 kilo of fresh mushrooms to get 100 grams of dried?
100 grams of dried, yields 500 – 600 grams, once rehydrated.

**Dried porcini mushrooms can be easily rehydrated in boiling water for 2 – 5 minutes. Once opened and properly stored, will last for up to a year in the pantry.

***There are a number of ways to rehydrate shiitake mushrooms. I find soaking them in 2 cm (3/4 inch) of cold water, covering with cling wrap for 24 hours, enhances the flavor; remaining water can be used for extra flavor in this dish.

So, the next time Chef Ramsay YELLS:
“JOANNE, WHERE IS MY RISOTTO?”, I can proudly exclaim:
“HERE CHEF! YES CHEF! WHOO HOO!”

Who would like to make this risotto now that it is “off the list” and done!
                               WHOO HOO!

 

4 thoughts on “Dreamy Creamy Porcini and Shiitake Mushroom Risotto

  1. Hehe I wonder what he did to make him cry too! 😛 This looks great Joanne!

  2. Zuretha Roos (Zuri) says:

    Beautiful blog!! The hard work will be keeping it up — I tried before, and just could not!! Good on you: it all looks great!

    • mickeydownunder1 says:

      Thanks Zurie! The GREAT thing about MY blog is I will be doing things I want to do “off the list” with no pressures of “have to” and in my own time too! WHOO HOO!

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

