Rising to the Occasion English Muffin Bread

7

December 25, 2012 by Joanne T Ferguson

Rising to The Occasion English Muffin Bread

When I came across this recipe on Baked by Rachel http://www.bakedbyrachel.com/2012/12/english-muffin-bread/, I knew I just “had” to put it on the list, TRUE!

I am not a baker per se, but KNEW if this stayed on the list long enough, it WOULD be make one day!

So today, is the day, decided to do,
And slightly adapted the recipe too!

Has not been on the list long, SO easy to do,
I hope I can inspire Rising to the Occasion to bake too! WHOO HOO!

Note: the dough appears sticky, a lightly greased rubber spatula is a good suggestion

Rising to the Occasion English Muffin Bread

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups bread flour
1 sachet dry yeast (7 grams)
1/2 tablespoon Xylitol*
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/4 cups milk, heated to 120 degrees
polenta, finely ground, to sprinkle and dust with

1. Lightly grease an 8×4 loaf pan and sprinkle with polenta.

2. In large bowl, combine dry ingredients.

3. In saucepan on stove, heat milk to 120 degrees.

4. With mixer on low, pour milk slowly into mixer, continuing to mix on medium speed until dough comes away from the bowl.

5. Lightly grease a spatula. Transfer dough to prepared loaf, spreading to all ends. Lightly sprinkle with polenta and cover with plastic wrap. Let set for 90 minutes in a warm spot. Remove plastic prior to baking.

6. Preheat oven to 180C. Bake for 30 minutes. Allow bread to cool in pan before turning onto a wire rack or cutting board.

7. Serve as desired with butter or jam.

8. Store remaining bread in airtight container and ENJOY!

Opened my pantry, what do I see?
This can of Pflaumen Mus** STARING back at me!
I thought, “PERFECT!”, as it has been “on the list” to try,
Haven’t gotten to it to date, and don’t know why!

If you are like me, there are two places that I am like a kid in a candy store. The first being a spice shop. As soon as I walk in the door, I don’t know if it is just me, but all the exotic spices send me mentally to faraway places to experience and see! 🙂

The second is a specialty gourmet food store. Just browsing at all the different jars and cans, packs, boxes I become POSSESSED! (In a good way!) It is almost an instinctive “impulse” that I take things off the shelf and they “magically” appear in my basket. It is always a good thing that I come back to earth to make it to the checkout.

Has this ever happened to you? I say to myself, “Oh, THAT looks interesting!” “Oh, THAT I would LOVE to try!” Sometimes I have NO CLUE what the spice, ingredient or food is, but I just have to “put it on the list” so I can make something with it one day!

I would be unable to describe the fruit butter taste, as I would lost for words; possibly a first! 🙂

Is it a butter? Is it a jam? I think this would go nice with some baked ham!

Hands up who wants to try this Rising to the Occasion English Muffin Bread with Pflaumen Mus today?
I can only WISH the smell of fresh bread in my post has now come your way! 🙂

Pflaumen Mus

*Xylitol is a natural sugar free sweetener that looks and tastes like sugar, but does not cause a “sugar spike” that other products cause. It has no bitter aftertaste and is great for cooking and baking too.

**Pflaumen Mus is a fruit butter puree. In German, “Mus” means puree. Interestingly, there is no butter in it and is named for its smooth consistency like mousse.

7 thoughts on “Rising to the Occasion English Muffin Bread

  1. […] name is Joanne aka mickeydownunder aka Joanna and I am not a baker or baker per se like in Rising to the Occasion English Muffin Bread, Peach and Pear Walnut Swirl Bread, or in Rocco’ss Macarons Rule Follow Up Mission […]

  2. Lori S. says:

    Hi Joanne love your blog!
    English Muffin Bread is one of my favorites bought at the store but your photo looks so good I think I need to give this recipe a try. Going to google the fruit butter and see if we can get it in the states. Great Job!

    • mickeydownunder1 says:

      WHOO HOO Lori S. A local German deli might be the first place to look, but if you are like me and like the ease and convenience of obtaining products, I did find this site which I am not associated with that ships from their Texas warehouse

      http://www.germandeli.com/

      PLAN B? Any of your favorite jam or jelly will do and the recipe IS very easy to do whether using xylitol or granulated sugar too 🙂 Good Luck! Let me know how you go!

      • Lori S. says:

        Neat website! I have found a lot of goodies to fill my cart with. 🙂 I will use granulated sugar since I cant tolerate sugar substitutes. Will keep you posted on how my bread turns out!
        p.s. I am lauralie41 🙂

  3. Hi Joanne! Your blog looks great and I really like the sound of this English muffin bread too! 😀

    • mickeydownunder1 says:

      Thank you! I VERY E-X-C-I-T-E-D about S-L-O-W-L-Y introducing things “on that never-ending food list” WHOO HOO!

      Just a note: If using the Xylitol in this specific recipe, while it does need to rise in a warm place for 90 minutes, it may not rise “as much” as if using granulated sugar, but the taste (less the sugar) is definitely there!
      Other than that, I use Xylitol in all my cooking and baking at the same amounts of sugar as listed in any recipe.

  4. Kim says:

    English Muffin Bread is such a nice hearty bread and perfect for that breakfast slice. That looks like you got it just right! Very nicely done!! My family being from MI, was a huge fan of fresh strawberry or cherry preserves; but, I think anything goes perfectly on this fantastic bread. Can’t wait to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

About me

Joanne T. Ferguson

Passionate Home Cook who tries to inspire one recipe and one event at time!

Follow

Facebook Twitter RSS email Pinterest Google Plus

© All text and photos are copyright 2012 - 2013 What's On The List. All rights reserved. Feel free to ask.

